Cecil Beaton’s Diaries

A classic six-volume memoir of the twentieth century, spanning through the Second World War, the Golden Age of Hollywood and the reign of Queen Elizabeth II.

Sir Cecil Beaton (1904 –1980) was an English fashion, portrait and war photographer, painter, diarist and Academy Award–winning stage and costume designer. 

For almost as long as he could write, Cecil Beaton kept his diaries. They accumulated year after year, and from a formidable pile of notebooks he extracted enough to fill six volumes.

This first volume covers seventeen years from 1922 to 1939 and is a fascinating and disarming book.

He describes his friendships with famous men and women, artists, writers, actors, film stars and celebrated socialites.

Few franker autobiographical documents have seen the light of day.

Perfect for fans of THE CROWN, LOVE, CECIL, fashion photography, artist’s memoirs, and twentieth-century history.

‘it is an exceptionally sensitive and perceptive record by a man who is an artist to his fingertips – an artist who is master not only of the highlights but of the shadows’ – The Spectator

‘One could go on reading him forever’ – The Observer

‘His is a superb diarist, comparable to the best in our language’ – Books and Bookmen

‘Wise, witty and perceptive’ – New York Herald Tribune

‘Fascinating and well-written, and deserves to be read as an insight into a period and of someone who was very much part of it’ – Western Mail

‘One of the unassailables of our time’ – Daily Mail

***PLEASE NOTE THIS NEW EDITION DOES NOT INCLUDE THE PHOTOGRAPHS PRESENT IN THE ORIGINAL HARDBACK EDITION***

CECIL BEATON’S DIARIES SERIES
BOOK 1: THE WANDERING YEARS: 1922-39
BOOK 2: THE YEARS BETWEEN: 1939-44
BOOK 3: THE HAPPY YEARS: 1944-8
BOOK 4: THE STRENUOUS YEARS: 1948-55
BOOK 5: THE RESTLESS YEARS: 1955-63
BOOK 6: THE PARTING YEARS: 1963-74 (to be released)

Available from all good bookshops and…

Author: Cecil Beaton
Publisher: Sapere Books
ASIN: B079GBJ7MC